I want to ask you to kiss me. 
Ask you to wet the surface of my lips 
Come closer to my body 
And Guide my hand though peaks and arches

I want to map out the constellation of your mind 
Trace the blueprints of your bones. 
The sketches of your soul.


I don’t want to feel this way 
But I have too...
I don’t think there’s a choice

Up all night because of you
I barely sleep anymore, 

Thoughts causing my blood to boil beneath my chest 
Like an open fire
Keeping the extremities of my body warm and conflicted
A melting pot, 
Crucible in my heart
Where armor is shaped and fitted to protect myself from pain

I am convinced rest will only come when I see you again
But I know how dizzy-drunk with desire I really am
Poisoned and burned with lust and unwelcome adoration 
Breathless in its devotion to you

I am simply seeking to be in the presence of your breath
The presence of your umbra 
Watch how you move 
Study the details of your body 

Shadow with shadow palm to palm
Painting the peaks and arches, 
Twisted angles and curves of your figure
Feel my grip reach around you
Squeezing you inward.
As if you were always falling away.
I would never let you go. 
And you 
Purlicues full with the weighted nature of my breasts
Kissing the soft arch of my back

I wish I could ask you to kiss me.
Leave a Reply

